Rédaction d'une lettre de demande de dossiers médicaux [avec exemple]

Chacun a le droit de demander l'accès à son propre dossier médical. Il est facile d'en obtenir une copie en écrivant une lettre au cabinet du médecin ou à l'hôpital. Il y a plusieurs raisons pour lesquelles une personne écrirait un lettre de demande de dossier médical

Les raisons les plus courantes sont:

  • Faire une réclamation d'assurance
  • Changer de fournisseur de soins de santé
  • Sortir de l'état
  • Tenue d'un dossier médical personnel
  • Obtenir un deuxième avis
  • Déposer une plainte pour faute médicale

Pour permettre à l'hôpital ou au cabinet du médecin de trouver facilement les dossiers, la personne doit inclure autant d'informations que possible, telles que le nom complet ou les noms si le nom a changé en raison d'un mariage ou d'une adoption, la date de naissance, l'adresse actuelle et le numéro de téléphone, le cas échéant. ainsi que l'adresse précédente si c'était l'adresse utilisée pendant le traitement. 

Si la personne ne veut que certains enregistrements, elle doit lister les enregistrements qu'elle souhaite, afin de ne pas être facturée pour les enregistrements dont elle n'a pas besoin. 

Dossiers médicaux viennent de nombreux endroits différents ainsi que des hôpitaux et des cabinets de médecins. Les particuliers peuvent avoir besoin d'envoyer une lettre aux laboratoires, aux infirmières privées, aux anesthésistes, aux physiothérapeutes, aux diagnosticiens en IRM, aux chiropraticiens et aux pharmacies. 

Les dossiers les plus fréquemment demandés à un médecin traitant sont :

  • Factures et reçus
  • Dossiers de prescription
  • Rayons X
  • Carnets de vaccination
  • Résultats des tests CAT, DKG, DDG, RMN et de surveillance fœtale
  • Résultats des tests diagnostiques

Les dossiers les plus souvent demandés à un hôpital ou à une clinique sont :

  • Dossiers d'admission
  • Registres des urgences
  • Les dossiers de l'anesthésiste
  • Dossiers de sortie
  • Dossiers ambulatoires
  • Rapports de pathologie
  • Notes de l'infirmière
  • Rapports pré et post-opératoires
  • Dossiers de thérapie

Selon l' Loi sur la transférabilité et la responsabilité en matière d'assurance-maladie (HIPAA) et les directives réglementaires du ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux, le médecin ou l'hôpital à qui l'on demande de fournir des dossiers médicaux peut facturer des frais raisonnables pour la copie des dossiers. 

Ils peuvent également facturer des frais de port si la personne demande que les dossiers soient envoyés à une adresse spécifique. 

Les lignes directrices permettent également au fournisseur de soins de santé de répondre aux demandes de dossiers dans les 30 jours avec une prolongation supplémentaire de 30 jours pour une bonne raison. Les États peuvent également avoir des lois qui exigent des frais moins élevés ou un décalage horaire pour répondre.

Formulaire de décharge médicale

De nombreux médecins et hôpitaux exigent que les patients remplissent un formulaire de décharge médicale. La personne doit appeler le bureau et demander si cela est nécessaire, car cela fera gagner du temps à la personne qui recherche les documents, ce qui fera gagner du temps à la personne qui en fait la demande. Le formulaire peut être rempli, signé et inclus dans la lettre demandant les dossiers. 

Les dossiers peuvent être envoyés au domicile de la personne, au cabinet d'un autre médecin ou à une compagnie d'assurance. Cependant, une personne ne peut demander que son propre dossier médical. S'ils veulent demander les dossiers d'un membre de la famille, ils auront besoin d'une autorisation écrite du membre de la famille. 

S'ils souhaitent demander les dossiers médicaux d'une personne décédée, ils auront besoin de l'autorisation du plus proche parent. Chaque hôpital peut avoir des réglementations différentes pour le traitement des demandes de proches parents, de sorte que la personne doit appeler l'hôpital pour connaître ses réglementations. 

Voici un exemple de lettre de demande de dossier médical. Il doit être rédigé dans un style professionnel formel et envoyé par courrier certifié. 

Puisqu'il y a un délai pour que le fournisseur de soins de santé réponde, il est sage que la personne ait une preuve de l'heure à laquelle la lettre a été reçue. 

Exemple de lettre de demande de dossier médical

Votre Nom et prénom
Votre adresse
Ville (*): État (*): Code Postal

DATES

Nom du fournisseur de soins de santé
Nom de l'hôpital ou autre établissement, le cas échéant
Adresse du fournisseur de soins de santé
Ville (*): État (*): Code Postal

RE : Demander des copies de mon dossier médical. Numéro d'identification : NUMÉRO

Cher nom du fournisseur de soins de santé,

J'écris cette lettre pour demander des copies de tout dossier médical que vous possédez.

J'ai compris que, conformément à la loi HIPAA (Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act) et aux réglementations du ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux, j'ai le droit d'avoir des copies de mes dossiers médicaux.

J'ai été soigné dans votre ÉTABLISSEMENT de DATE à DATE. J'aimerais obtenir des copies de tous mes résultats d'analyses sanguines, d'études d'imagerie, de rapports opératoires, ainsi que des notes de médecins et d'infirmières, de consultations avec des spécialistes, de références et de tout autre enregistrement dans mon dossier médical.

Je comprends que vous pouvez facturer des frais raisonnables pour la copie des dossiers, ainsi que pour les frais postaux pour envoyer les rapports à l'adresse ci-dessus. Cependant, vous ne facturerez pas le temps passé à localiser les enregistrements.

J'espère recevoir les documents ci-dessus dans les 30 jours spécifiés par la loi HIPAA ou recevoir une lettre indiquant la raison de tout retard. Je peux être contacté au 555-123-4567 ou à Name@email.com si vous avez des questions.

Merci d'avoir pris le temps de vous occuper de cette affaire.

Sincèrement,

Signature
Votre Nom et prénom
Liste des pièces jointes si une enveloppe adressée est jointe ou un formulaire de décharge médicale

découvertes intéressantes

Writing a Request Letter for Medical Records [with Sample]

Learn More

Everyone has the right to request access to their own medical history. It is easy to get a copy by writing a letter to a doctor’s office or hospital. There are several reasons why an individual would write a medical records request letter

The most common reasons are:

  • Making an insurance claim
  • Changing healthcare provider
  • Moving out of state
  • Keeping a personal medical record
  • Getting a second opinion
  • Filing a medical malpractice lawsuit

To make it easy for the hospital or doctor’s office to find the records, the individual should include as much information as possible such as full name or names if the name changed because of marriage or adoption, date of birth, current address and phone number as well as previous address if that was the address used during the time of treatment. 

If the individual only wants certain records, they should list the records they want, so they are not charged for records they don’t need. 

Medical records come from many different places along with hospitals and doctors’ offices. Individuals may need to send a letter to labs, private nurses, anesthesiologists, physical therapists, MRI diagnosticians, chiropractors and pharmacies.

The most common records requested from a treating physician are:

  • Bills and receipts
  • Prescription records
  • X-rays
  • Vaccination records
  • Results of CAT, DKG, DDG, NMR and fetal monitoring tests
  • Diagnostic test results

The records most often requested from a hospital or clinic are:

  • Admission records
  • Emergency room records
  • Anesthesiologist’s records
  • Discharge records
  • Outpatient records
  • Pathology reports
  • Nurse’s notes
  • Pre and post-operative reports
  • Therapy records

According to the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA) and the Department of Health and Human Service regulations guidelines the doctor or hospital being requested to give medical records may charge a reasonable fee for copying the records. 

They may also charge for postage if the individual requests the records be sent to a specific address. 

Learn More

The guidelines also allow the healthcare provider to respond to requests for records within 30 days with an additional 30 day extension for a good reason. States may also have laws that require a lower fee or time difference for responding.

Medical Release Form

Many doctors and hospitals require that patients fill out a medical release form. The individual should call the office and ask if this is required because it will save time for the person looking for the records, thereby saving time for the individual requesting. The form can be filled out, signed and included in the letter requesting the records.

The records can be sent to the individual’s residence, another doctor’s office or to an insurance company. However, an individual can only request their own medical records. If they want to request a family member’s records, they will need written permission from the family member. 

If they would like to request the medical records of a deceased person, they will need the permission of the next of kin. Each hospital may have different regulations for handling next-of-kin applications, so the person should call the hospital to find out their regulations. 

Here is a sample medical records request letter. It should be written in formal business style and sent by certified mail.

Since there is a time frame for the healthcare provider to answer, it is wise for the individual to have proof of the time the letter was received.

Sample Medical Records Request Letter

Your Name
Your Address
City, State, Zip Code

DATE

Name of Healthcare provider
Name of Hospital or other Facility if applicable
Address of Healthcare provider
City, State, Zip Code

RE: Requesting copies of my medical records. ID number: NUMBER

Dear Name of Healthcare Provider,

I am writing this letter to request copies of any medical records of mine that you have.

I have understood that according to the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA) and Department of Health and Human Services regulations, I am entitled to have copies of my medical records.

I was treated in your FACILITY from DATE to DATE. I would like copies of all of my blood test results, imaging studies, operative reports, as well as notes from doctors and nurses, consultations with specialists, referrals and any other record in my medical file.

I understand you may charge a reasonable fee for copying the records, as well as for postage to mail the reports to the above address. However, you will not charge for time spent locating the records.

I hope to receive the above records within 30 days as specified under HIPAA or receive a letter stating the reason for any delay. I can be reached at 555-123-4567 or a Name@email.com if you have any questions.

Thank you for your time attending to this matter.

Sincerely,

Signature
Your Name
List of enclosures if an addressed envelope is enclosed or a medical release form

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

1. How can I get a copy of my medical records?

Answer: To get a copy of your medical records, you will need to contact the healthcare provider or facility that generated the records and request them. You will likely be asked to fill out a release form and provide identification. Some providers may charge a fee for copies of records.

2. Can I get my medical records online?

Answer: Many healthcare providers and facilities now offer online portals where patients can access and download their medical records. Some providers also allow patients to request records through the portal.

3. Can I get my medical records from any healthcare provider or facility?

Answer: You can request medical records from any healthcare provider or facility that you have received treatment from. However, it is important to note that not all healthcare providers may be able to provide copies of all records, such as x-rays or lab results, as they may be owned by another entity.

4. How long does it take to get my medical records?

Answer: The time it takes to get your medical records can vary depending on the provider or facility. Some providers may be able to provide records within a few days, while others may take several weeks. It is a good idea to ask the provider or facility how long it will take to process your request when you make it.

5. What do I need to provide to get my medical records?

Answer: You will typically need to provide identification and a signed release form to get your medical records. The release form will usually require you to provide your name, address, date of birth, and the name of the healthcare provider or facility that you are requesting the records from. Some providers may also require proof of your identity, such as a driver’s license or passport.

Interesting Finds